Kim and Thi's Excellent Cooking Adventures

Gyoza/Potstickers

Posted in Uncategorized by kimandthi on January 25, 2012

One day in my senior year, I decided to make gyoza on a whim. I was mostly doing low-carb, but I had a tiny amount of shrimp and ground pork in the fridge, and I just thought, “Gyoza. Yes.”. I don’t know, don’t ask me. Asian tendencies. Once I see that I have 2 or more ingredients in my fridge that can contribute to one dish (no matter how many more ingredients it needs) the idea kind of just locks up in my head and demands to be carried out.

This gyoza experience was pretty interesting because, 1) I had never made dumplings from scratch before, and 2) I was only making enough for one serving, like 5-6 of them. Most recipes assume you’re planning on making 20-30. I must have used only a quarter cup of flour for the whole recipe. The little dough ball I prepared was the cutest thing ever. :3

Mostly got my recipe info from URB. Do you see a theme here? URB is awesome.

I used ground pork, shrimp and mushrooms for the filling.

Little dough ball!

I didn’t have a rolling pin, as usual. I used a beer bottle to roll these out.

Fry em for a bit, dump a bit of water in there, cover and let them steam.

Ah, college.
– Thi

Leave a comment